SARAH JANE MOON: @SARAH_JANE_MOON


 

 

SARAH JANE MOON

@SARAH_JANE_MOON

Sarah Jane Moon is a REALLY exciting artist I’m thrilled to be working with in Heart of the Matter. Moon is exhibiting two works: Juno, 2019 and the brand new work Hindsight, 2021.

 

Of the two works, Moon says: 

 

One of the paintings included in this exhibition is a portrait of Juno Roche, who is a friend and internationally recognised trans writer and HIV+ campaigner. Juno is well known for her books 'Queer Sex', 'Trans Power' & 'Gender Explorers'. I have always admired her presence, truth, confidence and warmth and this is what I have tried to emphasise in painting her. The bold and gestural background is an attempt to convey something of the admiration I have for Juno’s positivity, strength and energy.

 

'Hindsight' is part of a new body of work exploring the interior life of women; their thoughts, feelings and agency. The work and title allude to a narrative that is left open for the viewer to interpret, but places the individual woman in the painting at the center of her story, as the protagonist. The viewer is invited to contemplate who she is and what she's thinking. Sensation, time and memory are suggested both by the pose of the figure and the exuberant, semi abstracted nature of the bright interior space she inhabits.

  • INTERVIEW

    2021
     

     

    SARAH, How would you describe your artistic practice in three words?

     

    Bold
    Dynamic
    Expressive

     

    What issues do you believe need to change or be challenged in the art world?

     

    The gender pay gap is one of the most imbalanced of any industry; it needs to be continually
    challenged and changed. Lack of representation in terms of class, race, sexuality and people with
    disabilities is also a huge issue for our industry. This is slowly beginning to be recognised but we
    have a long way to go.


    On another level, nepotism is also a problem. The arts thrives on a whole swathe of people who
    can afford to take unpaid internships or work on their practice without an income for a decade. I
    believe that ultimately this weakens the art world at every level as diverse voices are not heard
    and work produced and shown is in danger of consequently reflecting a narrow sector of society.

     

    What is your studio like SARAH?

     

    My studio is relatively ordered and mostly full of canvases and shelves of books. I have a large
    antique H easel, a desk for admin and a comfy armchair for visitors or to sit and read / look at
    work. It’s in an old 1930’s office block with hundreds of other artists and I’ve been working there
    for over a decade. I love to listen to music, podcasts and audiobooks while I paint but my default
    is the radio (BBC4 usually). Good coffee is a must.

     

    Could you tell us a bit about the artworks you have in ‘Heart of the Matter’?


    One of the paintings included in this exhibition is a portrait of Juno Roche, who is a friend and
    internationally recognised trans writer and HIV+ campaigner. Juno is well known for her books
    'Queer Sex', 'Trans Power' & 'Gender Explorers'. I have always admired her presence, truth,
    confidence and warmth and this is what I have tried to emphasise in painting her. The bold and
    gestural background is an attempt to convey something of the admiration I have for Juno’s
    positivity, strength and energy.


    'Hindsight' is part of a new body of work exploring the interior life of women; their thoughts,
    feelings and agency. The work and title allude to a narrative that is left open for the viewer to
    interpret, but places the individual woman in the painting at the center of her story, as the
    protagonist. The viewer is invited to contemplate who she is and what she's thinking. Sensation,
    time and memory are suggested both by the pose of the figure and the exuberant, semi
    abstracted nature of the bright interior space she inhabits.

    Who are your art world role models or muse?

     

    Alice Neel
    Chantal Joffe
    Paula Rego
    Rita Angus
    Maggi Hambling
    Maria Lassnig
    Sylvia Sleigh

    Susanne du Toit @susannedutoit2353
    Cecily Brown @aujourdhuirose
    Jenna Gribbon @jennagribbon
    Jennifer Pochinski @jenniferpochinski
    Joy Labinjo @joylabinjo
    Vanessa Garwood @vanessagarwood
    Lynette Yiadom Boakye @lynetteyiadomboakye
    Nicole Eisenmann @nicoleeisenman
    Andrew Salgado @andrew.salgado.art
    Michael Armitage @michael_armitage_studio
    Doron Langberg @doronlangberg
    Salman Toor @salman.toor
    Amoako Boafo @amoakoboafo